Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Plastics, The Other Pandemic: A Webinar

With Journalists Alex Hartzog and Maura Stephens

September 26 @ 10:00 am 11:15 am PDT

Neptune

Friends and comrades,

Are you drowning in plastic? You’re not alone! We all are, no matter how hard we try to avoid it. Scientists say the plastics plague is as dangerous to life on Earth as climate change.

But what can we do about it?

To learn more, please join us for the next webinar in our ongoing series. Plastics: The Other Pandemic, will take place Sunday, September 26, 2021, 10 am Pacific, 11 am Mountain, noon Central, 1 pm Eastern (US/Canada). (Check the time in your timezone here.)

Alex Hartzog and Maura Stephens, the journalists who wrote our recent stories on plastic pollution (see links below), will discuss their findings and share some practical steps that we can take as individuals and grassroots organizers to halt this national and global scourge. The conversation will be hosted by David Klein of System Change Not Climate Change.

Register now to get a spot on the Zoom, in which we’ll take questions from the audience. We will also livestream this event on our Facebook page and later post a recording on our YouTube channel.

Here are the stories on which the webinar is based.

Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 What’s Recyclable, What’s Not?

About the presenters:

Alex Hartzog was the summer 2021 SCNCC writing and reporting intern through the Park Center for Independent Media, during which time he was deeply immersed in research on plastic pollution for the articles for which he was the lead writer. He will receive his degree in journalism from Ithaca College in Ithaca, New York, USA, in December 2021.

Maura Stephens is an independent journalist, educator, theatre artist, and multi-issue activist. An antiracist ecosocialist, she has been a member of SCNCC’s coordinating committee since early 2020.

David Klein, who was interviewed for the stories, is a mathematical physicist and professor of mathematics at California State University Northridge, where he teaches courses in the Climate Science Program. A member of SCNCC’s coordinating committee, he is author of the downloadable ebook Capitalism and Climate Change: The Science and Politics of Global Warming.

Illustration: “21st century Neptune” by Marina Fern├índez/Deviant Art

Free

Follow us

We are here to bring the world of ecosocialism to life.