Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

In Solidarity Against Precarity:
Three Labor Activists Speak

October 30, 2021 @ 4:00 pm 5:30 pm Eastern

Join System Change Not Climate Change for an informative webinar on Protecting Our Right to Organize within vulnerable workplaces, featuring IATSE entertainment workers, National Writers Union Freelance Solidarity Project members, and an IWW organizer.

Saturday, October 30, 2021

4:00 p.m. Eastern
3:00 p.m. Central
2:00 p.m. Mountain
1:00 p.m. Pacific

Find event time in any timezone here

Register using the button below so you can join in the conversation via Zoom. If you’re unable to connect via Zoom, we’ll also be streaming live on Facebook and will archive the webinar on our YouTube channel.

About Our Presenters

Olga Lexell has lived and studied in Kyiv, Chicago, Los Angeles, London, and Tokyo. A writers’ assistant and script coordinator, she is unionized under IATSE Local 871. Olga has also worked as a freelance journalist and is involved in the IWW Freelance Journalists Union

Steve Ongerth, a ferry boat deckhand and captain with the Blue and Gold Fleet on San Francisco Bay, is also an author and website developer. He is an active member of the Industrial Workers of the World (IWW) and System Change Not Climate Change. He cofounded the IWW Environmental Unionism Caucus and has worked with the grassroots group No Coal in Oakland and as an advocate for people with disabilities, of which he is one.

Eric Thurm is a writer, organizer, and event producer whose work has appeared in The New York Times and Jewish Currents, among other outlets. A founding member of the Freelance Solidarity Project of the National Writers Union, he also organizes with Never Again Action and New York’s branch of the Democratic Socialists of America. In a past life, Eric founded and ran the event series Drunk TED Talks.

Follow us

We are here to bring the world of ecosocialism to life.

Like Us On Facebook

Facebook Pagelike Widget
What Might An Ecosocialist Society Look Like?
On Sept 19, 2023 ahead of the Climate Ambition Summit in New York City, climate activists gathered for a rally and civil disobedience outside Bank of America Tower in Midtown Manhattan as part of the March to End Fossil Fuels wave of actions resulting in multiple arrests. Activists demand Bank of America to “Defund Climate Chaos and Defend Human Rights” Photo: Erik McGregor (CC BY-NC 2.0 Deed)

Let’s Save Each Other

Let’s Save Each Other

Illustration by Stephanie McMillan. Used with permission