Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

What’s Crypto Doing to Mother Earth?

December 11, 2021 @ 1:00 pm 2:15 pm Eastern

Cryptocurrency mining can require banks of many thousands of computers — and the tremendous amounts of electricity they use.

What the frack is cryptocurrency, anyway? Should we embrace it or eschew it? Cartographer Karen Edelstein, independent journalist and scholar Maura Stephens, and Seneca Lake Guardian Yvonne Taylor will enlighten us about who loves it, what it is, when and where it may be coming, why it’s growing so spectacularly, and how it impacts climate — and our own lives. And then they’ll share how communities worldwide are organizing to fight siting of CO2-belching cryptocurrency mines in their midst.

10 am PST, 11 am MST, noon CST, 1 pm EST (US/Canada)

Find event time in any timezone here.

Click on the button below to register for the Zoom and join in the discussion, or watch live on our Fb page. The webinar will be posted later on our YouTube channel.

Follow us

We are here to bring the world of ecosocialism to life.

Like Us On Facebook

Facebook Pagelike Widget
What Might An Ecosocialist Society Look Like?
On Sept 19, 2023 ahead of the Climate Ambition Summit in New York City, climate activists gathered for a rally and civil disobedience outside Bank of America Tower in Midtown Manhattan as part of the March to End Fossil Fuels wave of actions resulting in multiple arrests. Activists demand Bank of America to “Defund Climate Chaos and Defend Human Rights” Photo: Erik McGregor (CC BY-NC 2.0 Deed)

Let’s Save Each Other

Let’s Save Each Other

Illustration by Stephanie McMillan. Used with permission