Stand with Standing Rock

Walk, rally and flotilla opposed to pipeline

VESG, VESG, Apr 23 2014 - 09:45

On Saturday, April 12, a number of Vancouver Ecosocialist Group members (Vancouver, BC, Canada)  participated in the walk, rally and flotilla opposed to Kinder Morgan’s plans to expand the Trans Mountain pipeline carrying tar sands bitumen to the Burrard Inlet. The day was organized by the Burnaby Residents Opposing Kinder Morgan Pipeline Expansion (BROKE) and North Shore NOPE. Below is a collection of news stories related to the event.

MEDIA COVERAGE

Lead up:

Vancouver Sun - Art this Week -http://www.vancouversun.com/entertainment/this+week+Studio+Opening+Gabriel+Saloman/9714648/story.html

Burnaby Now - http://www.burnabynow.com/news/artist-leading-people-s-procession-against-pipeline-1.898145


Coverage:

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ez3ZlipMfIo

CBC http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/kinder-morgan-pipeline-protest-in-burnaby-attracts-hundreds-1.2608129

CBC twitter https://twitter.com/intent/user?screen_name=CBCDeborahGoble

CTV News http://bc.ctvnews.ca/video?clipId=324490

Global News  -  http://globalnews.ca/news/1267111/hundreds-to-take-to-the-streets-for-anti-pipleline-rally-held-in-burnaby/

Vancouver Observer - http://www.vancouverobserver.com/news/peoples-procession-rally-against-kinder-morgan-pipeline-marches-burnaby-images#print

News1130 http://www.news1130.com/2014/04/12/hundreds-gather-in-burnaby-to-protest-proposed-pipeline-expansion/

CKNW 980am - http://www.cknw.com/2014/04/12/kinder-morgan-pipeline-protest-in-burnaby/

Xinhuanet  - http://news.xinhuanet.com/english/photo/2014-04/13/c_133258653.htm

Think Progress - http://thinkprogress.org/climate/2014/04/14/3426238/canadians-protest-northern-gateway/

Burnaby Newsleader - http://www.burnabynewsleader.com/news/255044281.html

Vancouver Media Coop - http://vancouver.mediacoop.ca/video/burnaby-bc-says-no-pipeline-expansion-mayor-derek/22564

Documentation:

Jennifer Castro - flickr - https://secure.flickr.com/photos/jencastro/sets/72157643872798723/

keep em straight - http://vimeo.com/keepemstraight/burnaby-says-no-pipeline-expansion

Twitter:

#kindermorgan; #burnaby; #peoplesprocession

also:

http://instagram.com/p/mtVsCYSahk/#

Category: